Iowa Land Records
Recorded documents are available for viewing by clicking this link to the
Iowa Land Records Search
The County Recorder processes valuable information concerning Lands and Records Management, Licenses, Registrations, Applications, and Vital Statistics. The charts below list the various functions of the County Recorder. Click on the links for more information.
Other responsibilities of the Recorder are:
The above listed documents are recorded in the Webster County Recorder's Office. Recording fees are $5.00 per page and $1.00 per document records management fee; plus $1.00 per document E-commerce fee. Deeds require a $5.00 auditor's transfer fee for each parcel transferred (lot or block). Click here for Fee Schedule.
All documents must meet Document Formatting Standards. Click here to view the Document Formatting Standards.
Certified copies of these documents may be obtained a $5.00 certification fee plus $1.00 per page with the exception of Military Records for which there is no charge.
With most deeds recorded, a real estate transfer tax of $1.60 per thousand dollars of consideration is collected (first $500 exempt). Transfer tax charts are available by clicking here or a transfer tax calculator page is available by clicking here.
State and Federal tax liens are recorded in the real estate records. Searches can be conducted and certificates can be issued regarding the findings ($6.00 per certification). Copies of State tax liens are 50 cents each, copies of Federal tax liens are $5.00 each.
Real Estate Transfers
Iowa law requires that a "Declaration of Value" statement reflecting the full consideration paid in certain nonexempt real estate conveyances be submitted to the county recorder at the time a deed, contract, instrument, or other writing is presented for recording. Click here to download the Real Estate Transfer - Declaration of Value form.
satisfy legal requirements for filing instrument of conveyance of real property
with the county recorder according to Iowa Code Section 558.69, a Groundwater
Hazard Statement must be completed.
Certified copies of birth, death, and marriage certificates are available at a fee of $20.00 each (cashier's check, money order, or cash - NO personal checks). Those requesting certified copies must prove entitlement before acquiring the copy. A photo I.D. of the person requesting the record must be presented to receive a copy. Uncertified copies are available at $5.00 each and must be requested in person, not thru the mail. No information will be given over the telephone. Requests received thru the mail from people requesting genealogical information will be referred to the local genealogical association.
In Iowa, official registration of births, deaths, and marriages began July 1, 1880. Original records were registered are on file with the Iowa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Vital Records. Statewide record searches are available from the state registrar. Local vital records registrars are located in county recorders' offices where records of births and deaths that have occurred in that county are maintained. Marriage records are maintained in the county where the license to marry was obtained. County registrars are not authorized by law to have records of single-parent births prior to July 1, 1995: adoptions; delayed registrations; legal changes of name; fetal deaths (stillborns); any record ordered sealed by a court of law; or birth, death, and marriages between the years 1921 to 1941. Per Iowa law, information about a specific record is not available over the telephone or by prepared lists. Iowa law provides for public viewing in the county where the record is maintained, or certified copies issued to entitled persons.
State records may be obtained at Iowa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Vital Records, Lucas State Office Bldg, 1st Floor, 321 E 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075 (515) 281-4944.
Applications to search for a vital record event for the purpose of obtaining a certified copy must be in writing, completely identify the record, satisfactorily establish entitlement to the record being requested, and be accompanied by satisfactory photo identification. Entitled persons include the person named on the record or that person's spouse, children, legal parents, grandparents, grandchildren, siblings, or legal representative or guardian. Legal guardians and representatives must also provide additional proof of guardianship or representation. Applicants must be 18 or older.
Application forms for a certified copy of a vital record from Webster County or the State of Iowa may be downloaded for printing by clicking here. Download Application for Certified Copy of an Iowa Vital Record.
A $20 fee is required to search for a record and includes one certified copy. Each additional copy of the same record is also $20. If the record is not located, the applicant receives a notification to that affect. The $20 search fee is not refundable. Fees are payable in U.S. funds by check or money order to the issuing registrar's office (i.e., Iowa Department of Public Health for state-certified, county record's office for county-certified).
Marriage license applications may be completed in person with an uninterested third party as a witness. There is a three business day waiting period from the time the application is completed to the time the license is valid (Holidays not included). Marriage application fee is $35.00. Parties need to have a photo I.D. and the witness must be at least 18 years of age.
More information about applying for a marriage license in Iowa may be downloaded for printing by clicking here. Information about Application for Marriage License in Iowa.
The application form for a marriage license in Iowa, including detailed instructions for completing the application, may be viewed and/or downloaded by clicking this link. Download Marriage License Application and Instructions.
Boats are registered for a 3-year period. The current registrations will expire April 30, 2010. Renewal fees are based on the length of the boat. A penalty of $5.00 is applies to any registration that is not renewed by the expiration date. For current fees, contact the Recorder's office at (515) 576-2401 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Boat titles are currently issued for boats 17 feet in length or longer, except canoes. In addition, financial institutions can require titles for boats less than 17 feet long in order to put a lien on the title. The boat title fee is $12.75 with an additional $12.75 fee for titles with liens.
These registrations expire December 31 of each year. A yearly registration is $17.75. A penalty of $5.00 is applied to any registration that is not renewed by the expiration date.
Effective January 1, 1998, titles are required on all new and transferred snowmobiles. Effective January 1, 2000, titles are required on all new and transferred All Terrain Vehicles. Dirt bikes are considered ATV's. Snowmobile and ATV title fees are $11.50 and lien fees of $11.50 are applicable.
Download an Application Form for ATV/Snowmobile Registrations (pdf format)
Basic licenses available at the Recorder's office are listed below.
* Required with all hunting and Fur Harvester licenses, unless age 65 or older.
** This is a Writing Fee.
In 1839 the First Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Iowa created the office of County Recorder. The Recorder continues to maintain official records of documents affecting title to real estate in order to preserve property rights and protect innocent third parties in real estate transactions.
Beginning July 1, 2009 any check presented for payment will be processed as same day electronic transfer as soon as received by the bank.
|Return to Webster County Home Page|