Webster County
Board of Supervisors

Board Room Mural

701 Central Ave
Fort Dodge, IA 50501
Phone: 515-573-7175
Fax: 515-574-3714
Email: supervisors@webstercountyia.org

Serving on a Board or Commission
Application for Board or Commission


Budget & Financial Reports
Budget and Financial Reports are available from the Iowa Department of Management by clicking the link below.
Iowa Department of Management
Urban Renewal Amendment 2 PDF File-Use Adobe Acrobat Reader to View File
Public Notice of Hearing - FY2017 County Budget PDF File-Use Adobe Acrobat Reader to View File
FY2017 Proposed County Budget PDF File-Use Adobe Acrobat Reader to View File


County Held Tax Certificate Info



District 1  Keith Dencklau (R)
District 2  Mark Campbell (D)
District 3  Bob Thode (D)
District 4  Merrill Leffler (R)
District 5  Nick Carlson (D)
Click the map to see a more detailed map.
Map of Supervisor Districts

The Board of Supervisors of Webster County consists of five members, each elected for four years.

Meetings are held every every Tuesday at 10:00 a.m. in the Supervisors room, 2nd Floor County Courthouse, unless otherwise posted.

To be placed on the Board’s weekly agenda, contact Doreen Pliner, Webster County Auditor, at (515) 573-7175 or email auditor@webstercountyia.org

Board of Supervisors Duties:
The Boards duties are varied and its authority embraces practically every aspect of County Government. The Board acts as a general business manager for County Government and the following are some of the duties and powers:

  1. Prepares the County Budget, determines tax requirements needed and levies taxes to raise revenue for expenditures.

  2. Appoints and fixes salaries of certain offices, deputies, permanent and temporary help, and fills vacancies in elective county offices, except members of its own body. Vacancies in the Board of Supervisors are filled by appointment made by the County Auditor, County Treasurer and County Recorder.

  3. Establishes policies and provides adequate funding in order to properly maintain the secondary roads system.

  4. Is responsible for certain social welfare programs for the citizens.

  5. Performs a variety of duties relating to agriculture and conservation, including participation in flood and erosion control, appointment of a Conservation Board, establishing drainage districts and zoning of County lands.

  6. Makes official canvass of voters of the County following primary, general and special elections.

  7. All bills paid by the County must be allowed by the Board of Supervisors before payment can be made by the County.

  8. Approve Beer, Liquor and Cigarette licenses, sending these results to the Beer & Liquor Control Department in Ankeny, Iowa, for final approval.

The Board members appoint the following department heads, boards and commissions members:

Animal Control Officer
Board of Health Members
Buildings and Grounds Director
Community Services Director/CPC
Compensation Commission Members
Compensation Board Members
Conservation Director
Conservation Board Members
County Engineer
Information Technologies Manager

Medical Examiner
Planning and Zoning Director
Planning and Zoning Commission Members
Veterans Affairs Director
Veteran Affairs Commission Members
Weed Commissioner
Zoning Board of Adjustment Members
Judicial Magistrate Commission Member
Civil Service Commission Member

The Board members are also appointed to the following committees/boards and are liaisons for other county departments.

Keith Dencklau
Conference Board
Conventional & Visitor Bureau
Crime Stoppers
Foster Grandparents
GFDGA Board Directors
Ia Crossroads of Global Innovation Advisory Board
MIDAS City/County Committee
Webster County Drug Alliance
Drainage District 96 Representative
Beaver Creek Watershed Management Authority
North Racoon River Watershed Coalition
Squaw Creek Management Authority


Mark Campbell
Conference Board

County Buildings - SS

Growth City/County

Ia Crossroads of Global Innovation Advisory Board
Public Health
Solid Waste Commission
Bob Thode
Central Iowa Juvenile Detention
Conference Board

County Buildings - DHS

GFDGA Board Directors
Linking Families
MH Advisory/Plan Committee
NCARF/Comm & Family Res Behavioral Center
Second Judicial
Nick Carlson
Conference Board

County Buildings - CH

Growth Primary Sector Committee

Insurance Committee
Upper Des Moines
Merrill Leffler
Central Iowa Juvenile Detention (Alt)
Conference Board
County Buildings - LEC
E911 Service Board
Emergency Management
GFDGA Executive Committee

Growth City/County

HazMat Response Committee
Hazmat Foundation
Second Judicial (Alt)

Return to Webster County Home Page